Fun on the Internet

The Internet is not just a useful place to gather information and purchase products. It can be one crazy and fun place to hang out! Let's take a walk on the wild side this month. Below you will find some fun and irreverent sites to visit. Some of these can even be of some use to you.

Jeffrey B. Dalin, DDS

I have spent the last few years trying to enlighten the dental world about the virtues of the Internet. My goal for this monthly column has been to convince everyone to get online. Once online, I hoped that you would enjoy your visits to the World Wide Web and perhaps would then find uses for it in your day-to-day dental practices. I have given you many pages of Web sites to visit. I hope that you have visited and bookmarked many of these sites and are becoming avid users of what is available out there in cyberspace.

The Internet is not just a useful place to gather information and purchase products. It can be one crazy and fun place to hang out! Let's take a walk on the wild side this month. Below you will find some fun and irreverent sites to visit. Some of these can even be of some use to you.

Here are some truly useful sites that are still a little fun

Refdesk: www.refdesk.com

How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

Conversions: www.graniterock.com/calcconv.htm#length

Make Stuff: www.makestuff.com

Learn 2: www.learn2.com

Ehow: www.ehow.com

Tricks and Trinkets: www. tricksandtrinkets.com

Cool Sites: //home.mira.net/~lions/secret.htm

Fun Stuff

Bored.com: www.bored.com

Warning...this site can take up a lot of your free time

Acronym Finder: www.acronymfinder.com

Wacky Uses: www.wackyuses.com

I Should Be Working: www.ishouldbeworking.com

Absolute Trivia: www.absolutetrivia.com

Ad Critic: www.adcritic.com

Slanguage: www.slanguage.com

Phone Spell: www.phonespell.org

Answering Machine: www.answeringmachine.co.uk/answer/home.htm

Word Play: www.wolinskyweb.com/word.htm

Puzzlemaker: www.puzzlemaker.com

Amused.com: www.amused.com

Weird Sites: www.now2000.com/weird/index.shtml

And lastly, some Internet game sites:

Pogo: www.pogo.com

Freearcade: www.freearcade. com

Flipside: www.flipside.com

Uproar: www.uproar.com

Game Show Network: www. spe.sony.com/gsn

Who Wants To Be Millionaire: //abc.go.com/ primetime/millionaire/mill_home.html

Now you know...not only can the Internet be useful and informative, it can be a lot of fun as well.


Jeffrey B. Dalin, DDS, FACD, FAGD, practices general dentistry in St. Louis. He also is the editor of St. Louis Dentistry Magazine and spokesperson and critical-issue-response-team chairperson for the Greater St. Louis Dental Society. His address on the Internet is www.dfdasmiles.com. Contact him by e-mail at jeff@dfdasmiles.com, by phone at (314) 567-5612, or fax at (314) 567-9047.

More in Home