A guide to the Internet for kids

The Internet can be a great place for children to explore. There is a wealth of knowledge out there. You just need to know where to find it.

Jeffrey B. Dalin, DDS, FACD, FAGD

The Internet can be a great place for children to explore. There is a wealth of knowledge out there. You just need to know where to find it.

However, you also need to be very careful when your kids are "surfing the net." There are many areas out there in cyberspace that are not for young eyes.

What follows is a listing of a number of fun and interesting places for young children to visit. These sites are great starting points for you and your children or grandchildren. Take the trip with them U you will both be entertained and enlightened!

FamilyFun: www.family.com
Kid's Domain: www.kidsdo main.com
How Stuff Works: www.how stuffworks.com
Linkasaurus: www.linkasaur us.com
4Kids: www.4kids.org
Kid's Town: www.cybertown .com/kidtwn.html
Ask Jeeves for Kids: www. ajkids.com
DoScience: www.doscience .com
Enchanted Learning: www. enchantedlearning.com
Fun Brain: www. funbrain.com
Funology: www. funology.com
Kid Info: www.kid info.com
Wanna Learn: www.wannalearn.com
World Village: www.worldvillage.com
Zeeks: www.zeeks .com
Channel One: www .channelone.com
Kids Click: sun site.berkeley.edu/kid sclick
Word Play: www. wolinskyweb.com/ word.htm
Word Games: www.bonus.com/bonus /list/n_wordplay.right. html
Surfnet Kids: www. surfnetkids.com
Thinks: www.thinks. com
Bored.com: www.bored.com

Most kids could teach all of us more about computers and the Internet than we would ever care to know. Having a list of sites like this will allow us to sit down with our kids and explore cyberspace in a fun and educational manner.

Why should you worry about what sites are being accessed on your computer? You want to ensure that your children are not being lured to dangerous sites.You also don't want to miss this opportunity to learn the Internet with your children or your grandchildren. You may end up learning as much about the world around us as they will!

Jeffrey B. Dalin, DDS, FACD, FAGD, FICD, practices general dentistry in St. Louis. He also is the editor of St. Louis Dentistry Magazine and spokesman and critical-issue-response-team chairman for the Greater St. Louis Dental Society. His address on the Internet is www.dfdasmiles.com. Contact him by email at jeff@dfdasmiles.com, by phone at (314) 567-5612, or by fax at (314) 567-9047.

More in Science & Tech