Finance 101- Internet style

One of the most common uses for the Internet today is online trading. This is becoming one of the fastest growing areas on the World Wide Web. An incredible amount of information can be found out in cyberspace to help you make investment decisions.

Jeffrey B. Dalin, DDS

One of the most common uses for the Internet today is online trading. This is becoming one of the fastest growing areas on the World Wide Web. An incredible amount of information can be found out in cyberspace to help you make investment decisions.

You can read news on a daily basis, monitor stock prices, and do research using any number of criteria. There is very little you cannot find on the Web if you sit and surf long enough. It can be very entertaining. It also can be very rewarding financially!

What follows is a listing of Web sites, by category, that will guide you through this field of finance on the web:

Financial News Sites

CBS Market Watch: //cbs.market watch.com

CnnFn: //www.cnnfn.com

Daily Rocket: //www.dailyrocket. com

MSN Money Central: //money central.msn.com

Wall Street City: //www.wall streetcity.com

Yahoo Finance: //quote.yahoo. com

Online Investor: //www.investhelp. com

Financial General Sites

Investorama: //www.investorama. com

Morningstar: //www.morningstar.net

Money Online: //pathfinder.com/ money

SmartMoney.com: //www.smart money.com

Brill Mutual Funds: //www.brill.com

Financial Web: //www.financial web.com

Allstocks.com: //www.allstocks.com

Quicken.com: //www.quicken.com

Kiplinger: //www.kiplinger.com

Investorguide: //www.investorguide. com

Financial Stock-Screening Sites

Equity Trader: //www.equity trader.com

Hoovers: //www.hoovers.com

Rapid Research: //www.rapid research.com

Stockpoint: //www.stockpoint.com

Financial Commentary Sites

Forbes: //www.forbes.com

Individual Investors: //www.iionline.com

Motley Fool: //www.fool.com

Stock Talk: //www.stock-talk.com

Briefing.com: //www.briefing.com

Inside Wall Street: //www.insidewall street.com

Financial Center: //www.tfc.com

Financial Research Sites

Edgar: //freeedgar.com

Multex: //multexinvestor.com

Vector Vest: //www.vectorvest.com

Zack`s: //www1.zacks.com

Annual Reports: //www.annualre portservice.com

Daily Stocks: //dailystocks.com

Big Charts: //www.bigcharts.com

I-Sleuth: //www.companysleuth.com

Wall Street Research Net: //www.wsrn.com

Financial Calculators

Financenter: //www.financenter.com

Calculators: //www.smartcalc.com/ host/usatoday

Money Advisor: //www.moneyadvi sor.com

I hope that these sites will be useful if you decide to use cyberspace to do financial research and online investing. One caveat: be careful! Do your homework and make intelligent decisions. People do get hurt trying to do it themselves. Good luck!

Jeffrey B. Dalin, DDS, FACD, FAGD, practices general dentistry in St. Louis. He also is the editor of St. Louis Dentistry Magazine and spokesperson and critical-issue-response-team chairperson for the Greater St. Louis Dental Society. His Web-site address is www.dfdasmiles.com. Contact him by e-mail at jeff@dfdasmiles.com, by phone at (314) 567-5612, or fax at (314) 567-9047.

More in Investments